Skip to main content

Vanderbilt University Research Council

Charged by Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Cybele Raver, the VURC consists of faculty from all 10 colleges and schools and provides input on and oversees the planning and operations of a coherent set of activities for growth and recognition to provide support services that are accessible and effective and to streamline processes to reduce administrative burdens while ensuring compliance. The VURC also works to leverage our trans-institutional research efforts to improve our competitiveness for external funding and to elevate our global research profile. The council’s representatives are highly distinguished in their fields with a proven track record of working across disciplinary boundaries.

Members of the VURC

Joy Calico

Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair of Musicology

C. André Christie-Mizell

vice provost for graduate education; dean of the Graduate School; Centennial Professor of Sociology

Peter Cummings

John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering; associate dean for research

Laurie Cutting

Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Special Education

Image of Ellen Goldring in black shirt with blond hair

Ellen Goldring

Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair; professor of education and leadership, Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations; executive associate dean, Office of the Dean

Velma Mcbride Murry

Lois Autrey Betts Chair in Education and Human Development; university professor of human & organizational development

Mariann Piano

Nancy and Hilliard Travis Chair in Nursing; senior associate dean for research

Padma Raghavan

vice provost for research; professor of computer science and computer engineering

Ingrid Brunk Wuerth

Helen Strong Curry Chair in International Law;               associate dean for research

Charles Sanders

professor of biochemistry; associate dean for research

Bob Webster

Richard A. Schroeder Chair in Mechanical Engineering


Danny Winder

Bixler-Johnson-Mayes Chair in Basic Sciences

David Wright

Stevenson Chair of Chemistry; dean of graduate education and research

Elizabeth Zechmeister

Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair of Political Science