Skip to main content

Data Science: Next Generation Committee

The Data Science: Next Generation committee evaluates the current computing expertise and resources across campus and assesses future needs to strengthen the foundations of computing at Vanderbilt, establish connections with other disciplines, and emphasize social and ethical aspects of computing. The committee makes recommendations on best practices for expanding the scope of the Data Science Institute to better serve all areas of applied computing.

Committee Members

  • Hiba Baroud: assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering and Littlejohn Dean’s Faculty Fellow
  • Andreas Berlind: co-director of the Data Science Institute, associate professor of physics and astronomy and director of graduate studies in astrophysics
  • Jeffrey Blume: director of graduate education at the Data Science Institute, vice chair for education in the Department of Biostatistics and associate professor of biostatistics
  • Cindy Chen: associate professor of biostatistics, biomedical informatics, and ophthalmology and visual sciences
  • Josh Clinton: professor of political science, Abby and Jon Winkelried Chair
  • Laurie Cutting: Patricia and Rodes Hart Chair, professor of special education, psychology and pediatrics
  • Sarah Igo: Andrew Jackson Chair in American History, professor of law, political science and sociology
  • Xenofon Koutsoukos: professor of computer science, computer engineering, and electrical engineering
  • Maithilee Kunda: assistant professor of computer science and computer engineering
  • Carlos Lopez: assistant professor of biochemistry, biomedical informatics and pharmacology
  • Brad Malin: professor of biomedical informatics, biostatistics and computer science, vice chair for research affairs in the Department of Biomedical Informatics
  • Gregor Neuert: assistant professor of molecular physiology and biophysics, pharmacology and biomedical engineering
  • Tom Palmeri: distinguished professor of psychology, professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences
  • Doug Schmidt: Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Engineering (computer science), associate provost of research and Data Science Institute co-director
  • Sonya Sterba: associate professor of psychology and human development
  • Jennifer Trueblood: associate professor of psychology