Skip to main content

Environmental Health and Safety Governance Committee

Beginning in January 2020, the Environmental Health and Safety Governance Committee provides governance structure, leadership and oversight for the various environmental health and safety compliance-related activities for Vanderbilt University. The purpose of the committee is to ensure that students, faculty, staff and visitors are provided a safe work environment and that hazardous materials and equipment are used safely and in compliance with all applicable local, Tennessee, and federal regulations.

Committee Members

  • Padma Raghavan: vice provost for research, professor of computer science and computer engineering, co-chair
  • Mike Perez: associate vice chancellor, Division of Administration, co-chair
  • Chuck Sanders: associate dean for research, Aileen M. Lange & Annie Mary Lyle Chair in Cardiovascular Research, professor of biochemistry and medicine
  • Peter Cummings: associate dean for research, John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering
  • David Wright: Stevenson Professor of Chemistry, professor of communication of science and technology, dean of graduate education and research, College of Arts and Science
  • Shane Hutson: chair of physics and astronomy for the College of Arts and Science, professor of physics and biological sciences
  • Bridget Rogers: associate professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, director of undergraduate studies of interdisciplinary program in materials science
  • Julian F. Hillyer: associate professor of biological sciences
  • Chair of VU Radiation Safety Committee
  • Chair of VU Biological & Animal Care Safety Committee
  • Doug Horr: associate vice chancellor for Audit, Risk and Advisory Services
  • Mya Batton: director of Risk and Insurance Management
  • Michelle Tellock: deputy general counsel and general counsel in the Office of the Vice Chancellor
  • Terry Horn: director of Corporate Health and Network Development
  • Lori Rolando: assistant professor of clinical medicine, Vanderbilt Occupational Health
  • Kevin Warren: senior director of Vanderbilt Environmental Health and Safety
  • Andrea George: director of the Sustainability and Environmental Management Office
  • Liane Moneta-Koehler: director of Research Development and Support in the Office of the Vice Provost for Research
  • Anthony Tharp: assistant dean, Facilities, Infrastructure and Risk Management, Office of the Dean, School of Medicine–Basic Sciences
  • Larry Cox: building manager for the Engineering and Science Building for VPR/VUSE
  • Aaron Covey: facility analyst, Office of the Dean–College of Arts and Science