Skip to main content

Vanderbilt University Research Council

Charged by Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Susan R. Wente, the VURC consists of faculty from all 10 colleges and schools and provides input on and oversees the planning and operations of a coherent set of activities for growth and recognition to provide support services that are accessible and effective and to streamline processes to reduce administrative burdens while ensuring compliance. The VURC also works to leverage our trans-institutional research efforts to improve our competitiveness for external funding and to elevate our global research profile. The council’s representatives are highly distinguished in their fields with a proven track record of working across disciplinary boundaries.

Members of the VURC

Peter Cummings

John R. Hall Professor of Chemical Engineering; Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Associate Dean for Research

Laurie Cutting

Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Special Education, Psychology, Radiology, and Pediatrics

Cynthia J. Cyrus

Vice Provost for Learning and Residential Affairs; Professor of Musicology; Affiliated Faculty in Women’s and Gender Studies

David Dickinson

Margaret Cowan Chair in the Department of Teaching and Learning; Associate Dean for Research and Strategic Initiatives of Peabody College

Ian Macara

Chair of the Department of Cell & Deve
lopmental Biology; Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology; Louise B. McGavock Chair; Co-Leader, Signal Transduction and Chemical Biology/VICC

David Michelson

Assistant Professor of the History of Christianity

Velma Mcbride Murry

Lois Autrey Betts Chair in Education and Human Development; Professor of Human and Organizational Development; Joe B. Wyatt Distinguished University Professor

Mariann Piano

Professor of Nursing; Senior Associate Dean for Research

Padma Raghavan

Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Computer Science and Computer Engineering

Charles Sanders

Professor of Biochemistry; Associate Dean for Research

Christopher Serkin

Associate Dean for Research; Professor of Law

Paul Stob

Associate Professor of Communication Studies

Sharon Weiss

Professor of Electrical Engineering and Physics; Deputy Director, Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering

Richard H. Willis

Anne Marie and Thomas B. Walker, Jr. Professor of Accounting; Associate Dean for the Faculty

Danny Winder

Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biophysics and Psychiatry

David Wright

Stevenson Professor of Chemistry, Dean of Sciences

Elizabeth Zechmeister

Professor of Political Science; Director, Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)