Skip to main content

Research Compliance Committee

The Research Compliance Committee supports operational aspects of compliance around sponsored research projects at Vanderbilt University. The committee also clarifies university policies and discusses unique or complex cases as models to consider adapting processes. When such changes are needed, the committee adapts existing processes or creates new ones.

Committee Members

  • Padma Raghavan, vice provost for research, professor of computer science and computer engineering (committee chair)
  • Liane Moneta-Koehler, director of Research Development and Support in the Office of the Vice Provost for Research (committee manager)
  • Alan Bentley, assistant vice chancellor of the Center for Technology Transfer and Commercialization
  • André Christie-Mizell, vice provost for graduate education and dean of the Graduate School
  • Richard Chotard, associate general counsel
  • Peter Cummings, associate dean for research for the School of Engineering
  • Andrea George, director of environmental health and safety
  • Ellen Goldring, associate dean for research for Peabody College of Education and Human Development
  • Douglas Horr, associate vice chancellor for internal audit
  • Chuck Sanders, associate dean of research for School of Medicine Basic Sciences
  • Douglas Schmidt, associate provost for research development and technologies
  • Masood Sidiqyar, VUIT director of Security Operations
  • Michelle Wachter, proposals and awards manager in Sponsored Programs Administration
  • Christina West,  assistant vice chancellor for federal relations
  • David Wright, associate dean for research for the College of Arts and Sciences


Vanderbilt has enlisted a consultant to review many areas of our research compliance practices. The goal is to establish structures for us to best meet and adapt to evolving federal regulations and concerns, such as those related to international collaboration and research integrity. The Research Compliance Assessment Steering Committee has been put in place to guide this engagement:

  • Richard Chotard, Associate General Counsel
  • André Christie-Mizell, Vice Provost for Graduate Education, Dean of the Graduate School
  • Ellen Goldring, Associate Dean for Research, Peabody College of Education and Human Development
  • Doug Horr, Associate Vice Chancellor for Audit, Risk, & Advisory Services
  • Duco Jansen, Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Education and Faculty Affairs, School of Engineering
  • Liane Moneta-Koehler, Director of Research Development and Support