Skip to main content

The University Art Collections Governance Subcommittee

The committee will have overlapping membership (at least one) with the University Arts Council, and will:

  • Review the definition of the “Education Arts Collection” with concurrence on the final from the Provost and interim Chancellor.  The draft definition holds that:
  • The Educational Arts Collection is comprised of holdings of the Fine Arts Gallery, historical artifacts held by the university, indoor and outdoor art on university properties, and art on loan to third parties including art that is currently on loan to VUMC that was purchased prior to the April 2016 university-medical center reorganization.
  • Provide faculty guidance and recommendations on all acquisitions, loans and deaccessions for the Educational Arts Collections based on historical significance, educational merit and physical condition. Recommendations will be given to the Provost for approval. The actual acquisition, loans and deaccessions authority will follow the January 2019 SOP with the input of the subcommittee.
  • Propose policies and provide guidance and recommendations regarding legal, social, and ethical concerns about Educational Art Collections at Vanderbilt, to be approved by the Provost.
  • Provide strategic direction and/or input on requests for public art – both outdoor spaces and campus buildings and facilities; and working to assess impact to physical spaces and alignment with FutureVU.


Vanessa Beasley, vice provost for academic affairs and dean of residential faculty

Michael Bressman, professor of the practice of law, Law School 

Mary Anne Caton, interim curator, fine arts gallery (ex-officio)

Leonard Folgarait, Distinguished Professor of History of Art, College of Arts and Science

Jana Harper, associate professor of the practice of art, College of Arts and Science

James Moore, university landscape architect, Campus Planning and Construction

Meaghan Mundy, assistant dean of student empowerment, engagement and development

Lauren Rodgers, Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trust and Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Chancellor

Michael K. Slayton, associate professor of composition and theory and department chair, Blair School of Music

Celia Walker, associate university librarian, distinctive collections, engagement, and strategic assessment, acting director, Fine Arts Gallery

Christoph Zeller, associate professor of German and European studies, College of Arts and Science