Skip to main content

Vanderbilt University Laser Safety Committee

Beginning in January 2020, the Laser Safety Committee ensures that lasers are used safely and in compliance with local, Tennessee, and federal regulations. The committee covers safety in both research and teaching lab spaces.

Committee Members

  • Shane Hutson: chair of physics and astronomy for the College of Arts and Science, professor of physics and biological sciences
  • Bill Gabella: assistant professor of physics and astronomy
  • Matthew Tyska: Cornelius Vanderbilt Chair in Cell and Developmental Biology and
    scientific director, Cell Imaging Shared Resource
  • E. Duco Jansen: senior associate dean for graduate education and faculty affairs and professor of biomedical engineering and neurological surgery
  • Richard Haglund: Stevenson Professor of Physics
  • Andrea George: director of the Sustainability and Environmental Management Office
  • Doug Horr: associate vice chancellor for Audit, Risk & Advisory Services
  • Mya Batton: director of Risk and Insurance Management
  • Liane Moneta-Koehler: director of Research, Development and Support in the Office of the Vice Provost for Research
  • Anthony Tharp: assistant dean, Facilities, Infrastructure and Risk Management, Office of the Dean, School of Medicine–Basic Sciences
    Larry Cox: building manager for the Engineering and Science Building for VPR/VUSE
  • Aaron Covey: facility analyst, Office of the Dean, College of Arts and Science